Day 16: A Reader’s Best Friend (Laurie Halse Anderson)

lhaSarah is the girl I wish had been my friend in high school. She has all of the qualities anyone would want in a friend: kindness, great sense of humor, understanding, honesty…. and did I mention how sweet she is? If I had known her when I was a teenager, she would have understood all my confusion. She wouldn’t have laughed when I revealed my deepest secrets and fears. She would have told me her own.

She has found a way to pour these qualities into her books. Every reader feels that Sarah Dessen IS her best friend! She writes stories that echo the world around us, offering clarity and comfort. Her characters are us, or people that we know. Finishing one of her books is just like hanging up the phone after a long conversation with your best friend. All is right with the world.

Laurie Halse Anderson.  Is there much more than can be said about this lady other than that she’s the absolute bee’s knees?  LHA’s latest release on quality shelves everywhere is Wintergirls.  You can also find out more about Laurie via her website and blog.

Tomorrow – Hannah (UK) from About Books.

Leave a Reply

