Day 14 – THAT Sarah Dessen (Elizabeth Scott)

elizabethscottI was lucky enough to have Sarah blurb my novel, Something, Maybe, and let me tell you, it truly was a dream come true because I’ve been a fan of hers for ages! In fact, before I was even published, I actually met her which–well, check out what I wrote back in May 2006:

BEA (BookExpo America) was amazing. Picture a huge warehouse, and now fill it with booths of presses, all staffed by people who not only want to tell you about their upcoming releases, but will give you copies of them! I seriously felt like I was in a dream, and spent a good portion of Friday morning saying, “Can I have a copy of this? Really? YAY!!!”

But that isn’t all! I also got to meet Sarah Dessen. Yes, THAT Sarah Dessen.

I got to BEA around nine on Friday, because she was autographing copies of her amazing new book, Just Listen, starting at 9:30. First thing I did was head up to the autographing area (which was in a completely different area than most of the publisher booths, and I swear was actually in another building… but I digress.)

Anyway, fate was truly on my side, because I was the first (yes, the FIRST) person in line for Sarah Dessen. I was giddy, and a wonderful librarian from Richmond, who was in line behind me, listened to me gush and talked to me about what kids at her school are reading.

Then Sarah Dessen came out. I’ve seen her picture on her book jacket, of course, but in person she’s even prettier, and she was just so THERE, you know? Sarah Dessen, twenty feet away from me!

By the time the autographing line opened, I was so awe-struck I could only stammer out “I love your writing!” and remember my name (barely) when she asked who I wanted the book made out to.

And now, here I am, three years later, and I’m *still* in awe of Sarah and her poise, charm, and amazing talent.

Happy Birthday, Sarah and thanks for making this fan girl’s dream come true–twice!

Elizabeth Scott’s photo (above) never fails to make me smile.  She’s pure sunshine!  Her newest title, Something, Maybe, is currently in stores and you can find her website and blog on the following link.

Tomorrow – Erika Lynn from Kiss My Book

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Day 14 – THAT Sarah Dessen (Elizabeth Scott)

  1. Emily says:

    I’m so glad it’s not just me who starts dribbling the presence of great authors. Nice post. And yes, what a fabulous photo!

  2. Emily says:

    Sorry, that’s “dribbling IN the presence” I meant to say.

Leave a Reply

