Day 11 – A UK Sarah Dessen Revolution Can’t Be Far Away…? (Jenny)

union-jack2Sarah Dessen is one of my all-time favourite authors, and I firmly believe that she rules the YA romance genre.

One of my favourite things about Sarah’s writing is her characters. Every single person she creates comes alive within the pages of her books, and her realism and understanding of family is matched by no-one. Her lead female protagonists are always positive role models, and are taken on journeys of self discovery and hope that we, as her readers, can all relate to in one way or another.

The other thing I love about Sarah is her male characters. How she conjures them up, I do not know, but heck do I wish I could meet them all. From musicians to artists, shy to confident, the boys in her stories are all people I wish I could have a conversation with. At the top of my SD boy list, without a doubt, is Wes. Wes is a huge part of The Truth About Forever, and I, like thousands of other readers, instantly fell in love with him. The way he cares for Macy, and the way he helps her deal with her grief and move on with her life is just amazing. Wes & Macy will always be in my list of best literature couples of all-time, and are currently settled at third place, below Edward & Bella and Jace & Clary. That’s how much I love them.

SD’s books aren’t that popular over here in the UK, though booksellers and reviewers like myself ,who adore every word Sarah puts to paper, are slowly helping that to change. She’s one of the best in YA, and I hope that one day the UK will see an SD revolution hit bookshops and libraries.

I’m counting down the days until Along For the Ride arrives in my post box, and it will be a very exciting day indeed. SD’s books are something to be savoured, because the wait for the next one is sure to drive you insane.

If you read this Sarah, please write quicker so I can feed my addiction. A book a month will do me nicely. 🙂

Jenny is a wonder from the UK. She’s working the front line in Borders, spreading the word.  So you know the revolution is a-comin’ soon. You can check out Jenny’s blog here – Wondrous Reads.

Tomorrow – Gayle Forman, author of If I Stay (currently touring UK)

2 thoughts on “Day 11 – A UK Sarah Dessen Revolution Can’t Be Far Away…? (Jenny)

  1. Jenny says:

    Thanks for letting me ramble on, Adele!

  2. Luisa says:

    Brilliant post!

Leave a Reply

