Day 1 – The Newbie (Shalonda)

When I was in my teacher preparation program, I attended an NCTE conference in Nashville. I was so excited because there were exhibits, classes, and of course some of the greatest authors of adolescent and teen literature!

One particular session caught my attention. It was featuring an author named Sarah Dessen. Now, at the time, I had no clue who Sarah was, but because it involved YA literature, I was so there!

I arrived pretty early, and good thing too, because there was a pretty large crowd. There was this huge buzz of excitement, and all around me people were talking about how wonderful Sarah was. Imagine my surprise when I see this petite woman walk in and the room just lit up with smiles and gasps. To this crowd of teachers and librarians, she was a HUGE celebrity.

I was starting to feel a little out of place, because I seemed to be the only one clueless about Sarah and her novels. But as soon as she opened her mouth to speak, I was engaged! She was so lively, yet so down to earth. She was friendly and inviting and entertaining and the list could go on forever!

Dsomeonelikeyouuring Sarah’s appearance, I decided that I would go and purchase her books immediately upon my arrival home. And I did, as soon as I got home! And I started by reading Someone Like You, which I absolutely loved. The characters were fabulous and I laughed and I cried. And I was enraptured by the beautiful story.

I recommend Sarah’s books to everyone. And I list her among my favorite authors, in company of the fabulous Judy Blume and wonderfully awesome Laurie Halse Anderson. What can I say? Since that chance encounter with Sarah Dessen, I am a fan for life!

Shalonda is the beauty and brains behind the blog, Shalonda’s Blog and is also a weekly contributor to the Seven Book Babes YouTube Channel which you should all check out. Thanks so much Shalonda!

Tomorrow – Melissa Walker (Violet on the Runway series) will be vlogging it up!

6 thoughts on “Day 1 – The Newbie (Shalonda)

  1. Summer says:

    great blog Shalonda! It’s fun when you can just discover random authors like that

  2. Sarah W. says:

    Great job, Shalonda.

  3. Adele says:

    Hey Shalonda – thanks so much for being part of the celebration! I love hearing people’s stories about how they first “found” Sarah Dessen’s brilliance.

  4. Finding an author like Sarah is one of those great moments you don’t forget! Nice post, Shalonda.

  5. Shelly Burns says:

    Good one Shalonda! Don’t you just love authors that move you emotionally?

  6. Erika Lynn says:

    great blog Shalonda!

Leave a Reply

