Just Listen – Playlist

This is the Sarah Dessen created playlist for her novel, Just Listen. I have taken the song titles and her reasons for choosing them directly from her blog. The direct link is here.

1.”What It Feels Like For a Girl,” Madonna. Okay, so I am old enough to remember when the video for “Borderline” hit MTV and we eighth grade girls, en masse, headed out to buy rubber bracelets and fingerless gloves. I feel like I’ve grown up with Madonna, and I love her stuff, but this is probably my favorite song. It was in my mind a lot when I was writing the book, the way a song with just be there, and then start to represent the story whenever you hear it. It came out a few years ago, and the video was all violent and caused a bit of a a controversy, which is unfortunate because this is a beautiful, uplifting song. At least, in my mind. (Again: it’s personal!)

2. “Radio Song,” R.E.M. There’s a lot of stuff about radio in the book, so this fits. Plus I love R.E.M. songs where Michael Stipe sounds like he’s having fun. I mean, I love the sad ones too, but it’s nice to know he can be happy, at least occasionally.

3. “Road to Nowhere,” The Talking Heads. This song always puts me in a good mood. It’s also one I was listening to while I was writing, especially at the beginning, which for me is always the scariest part. There’s something nice about David Byrne letting you know it’s gonna be all right. And being able to put that on repeat, for the bad days when you really need to hear it.

4. “Drop the Pilot,” Mandy Moore. What can I say? I love Mandy Moore. ‘Nuff said.

5. “This is Radio Clash,” The Clash. Again, a great song about the power of radio. I was listening to a lot of Clash while I was working on this book. I think Owen, the ultimate music snob, would approve.

6. “Blind Love,” Tom Waits. Okay, here’s the thing. I am TERRIBLE at picking favorites. Ask me my favorite movie, or song, or TV show, and I freeze up, unable to commit to just one. I prefer to pick three. Or, ideally, five. But if I HAD to pick my favorite song of all time, and be bound to it forever, it would probably be this one. First, it’s from Rain Dogs, which is the most perfect album ever. And it’s just beautiful. Beautifully written, beautifully played. Beautiful. I can’t even do it justice, just go listen to it.

7. “Story of My Life,” Social Distortion. Interesting fact: Story of My Life was my original title for this book. Not for this song, but for the phase itself, which comes up a bit in the novel. In the end, though, I changed it—my original titles rarely make it past draft stage—but since I love this song, and will always have a soft spot for my first title, I’m paying it tribute here. I will never hear it again without thinking of the book, and that’s not a bad thing.

8. “The Joker,” Fatboy Slim. The original version of this song, by the Steve Miller Band, SO makes me think of high school. We listened to a lot of SMB then, along with Pink Floyd, and Led Zeppelin. I really like this remake, though, because it’s something nostalgic for me, taking on a whole new life. Which is kind of what like I do, now that I think about it.

9. “Ooh Child,” Beth Orton. This is another song that’s good for those hard days when you’re convinced your story stinks, your characters stink, and you stink. Put it on, wallow for a minute. You’ll feel better when it’s done, I promise.

10. “Ace of Spades,” Motorhead. When I was trying to think of the kind of music Owen played on his show, at least initially, this is the song that came to mind. Good for days when you’re mad at the world. That said, it’s also one of my husband’s favorite songs, so much so that I kept telling people we were going to dance to it at our wedding. Which would have been comical, if not horrifying. Still, you gotta love Motorhead.

11. “Fight Test,” The Flaming Lips. Credit where credit is due: my friends Courtney and Cameron turned me onto this song. I love the beginning, which is sort of whacked out (very Owen-esque) and also the lyrics. It’s all about standing up for something, which is what the book is about, as well.

12. “You Belong to Me,” The Flat Duo Jets. When I was beginning This Lullaby, I was trying to think of the name of the boy who was going to be the lead singer of a band and steal Remy’s heart. Then I remembered the Flat Duo Jets, a very well-known Chapel Hill Band, and their singer, whose name was Dexter Romweber. He was a bit ofa local legend then, and now, and I always loved this song. I know what you’re thinking: but Dexter’s not in Just Listen, so which pick this for this list? Well…..

13. “Rebel Waltz,” The Clash. Like I said, I had Clash on the brain. And this is an unexpected Clash song: soft, and pretty. Plus, it’s one of the few real songs in the book.

14. “Thank You,” Tori Amos. My favorite is the Led Zeppelin version, which is not available on iTunes. Still, this one’s nice as well, more dreamy and sad than the original. I put this song last because it’s the last song mentioned in the book, as well as how I felt when I finished the novel. I am always grateful to write that last sentence, hit that final period, and then sit back and exhale. Nice.

I found all these tracks about six months ago and have re-list the list as Sarah Dessen: Just Listen Mix on my iPod. There are some awesome songs that I knew and some that I were unfamiliar with but…the Flaming Lips rock!

9 thoughts on “Just Listen – Playlist

  1. Were can I find the songs that Owen shares with Annabell in the book? I’ve been trying to find them forever! The only ones I could find were Thank You by Led Zeppelin and Rebal Waltz by The Clash. All those wierd songs Owen listens to and puts onhis radio show, are they real? If so, where can I find them? I’ve been asking everywhere and I’m dying to be enlightened. Because silence is so freaking loud! I want to know the exat songs and maybe some others that fall in the same categories. Please, I need to know! Help!!

  2. booklover says:

    In the blog she states that most of the songs were MADE UP AS IN NOT REAL.

    • madison o; says:

      xDD rofl ;
      agreeing with you.

    • Kerigan says:

      she may have said that, but there are lots of bands that are real that she mentioned. you just have to scour the internet extremely hard. I found Descartes Dream by Misanthrope. Jennifer by Lipo I believe to be made up, but other than that… you really have to search hard. Black Flag is real… but I’m serious. Most of this stuff you can’t find on iTunes, so search on Google. Have fun searching šŸ™‚

  3. twilight_heart_Xx says:

    omg i friggin luved de book and i sooo want to listen to the music dat was mentioned in de book, to see wat i think if i lyk it or not, if im as opposed to techno as annabel is or not! lolz. if anyone finds anything let me no! sorry i cant be of more help in your seargh fer de music and i seriously wud just die if dey were all made up lyk! lolz

  4. Alee H says:

    I’ve been searching really hard because the music sounds like something worth listening to but i can’t find anything! and i really want to hear the techno!

  5. Cocopeach says:

    picture how much money she would owe people if she used their copyrighted/trademarked/ridiculously overwatched band names/song titles, and so many! i mean the book is full of songs, but it shouldnt cost a ridiculous amount of royalties to publish. admittedly I would love to hear all the material mentioned in the book but half the fun is how you hear about it, right? maybe i’ll get a group of friends together and try to interpret the titles into a song and just say thats what it is… idk fun weekend project

  6. Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my web site so i came to return the desire?
    .I am trying to to find things to improve my web site!I guess its ok to use some of your ideas!
    !

Leave a Reply

