This Lullaby – Reflection

Again I would like to use this blog as a forum to reflect on a Sarah Dessen novel.  This is an opportunity for you and me to share our observations.  Sarah does drop by the blog on occasion so this is a great way to tell her how much you love her books and characters. You can answer the following questions via email or in the comments section.  I will read them in the final podcast episode for This Lullaby.  Jump in and give your two cents worth.

1. Your favourite character. Why?
2. Your favourite moment.  Why?
3. What is it about This Lullaby that draws you in?
4. If you could ask Sarah Dessen anything about this book, what would it be?

Remember to enter the poll of which SD novel you’d like me to cover next.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “This Lullaby – Reflection

  1. Leah says:

    1. It’s really hard to choose… basically, I love the group of girlfriends when all four of them are together. They really remind me of my closest friends in both high school and university, and I think the conversations, fights, and problems they have really reflect “true life”. Of course, I love Dexter too… he’s my favourite of Sarah’s heartthrobs.

    2. I love all of Dexter’s “challenges”! This quirkiness is right up there with Sumner’s cheese commercial in That Summer (which you should read if you haven’t already!)… hilariously adorable. I also love it everytime one of the girls nails something (or someone) with a Zip Coke… how I wish I could do that.

    3. This Lullaby is a great, light, summer book — I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve read it, but it tends to be in the summertime. It reminds me so much of that point in my life, about making big life decisions and dealing with the consequences and growing up.

    4. Oh gosh, I don’t know! How about: I’ve seen Sarah write that she has a special place for this book in her heart. Why’s that?

  2. Joy says:

    1. John Miller, because it seems like every scene with him in it includes some sort of sarcastic remark that made me laugh. After that, it’s probably Chloe or Dexter.
    2. “You’re here, aren’t you?” – I get goosebumps every time!
    3. How realistic it is. Even Remy is shown to make mistakes, unlike a lot of books I have read. It’s easy to relate to her characters, while seeing that every one of them is flawed in some way. With this book in particular shows most of that through Remy.
    4. Something I have always wondered: You mentioned once that this was the only book that you had ever really thought that a sequel could go to. That is probably really old news by now, but I just wanted to know if the plot would have centered around Remy touring with Dexter?

Leave a Reply

